Faculty Awards

We are thrilled to announce and celebrate the recipients of this year’s faculty awards!

The Provost’s Office accepts applications each year for competitive Senior Faculty Research and Scholarly Leaves funded by Kenan, Pogue, William R. Kenan, Jr., William N. Reynolds, and Reynolds Industries, Inc. Award recipients receive one semester of scholarly leave and a $4,000 research fund.

The Junior Faculty Development Awards are funded by IBM and R. J. Reynolds Industries, Inc. and are typically announced in the late fall. This award grants $10,000 to support scholarly pursuits over one calendar year.

Information about next year’s application process for both faculty awards will be posted to this website in Fall 2023.

Senior Faculty Research and Scholarly Leave Awards

First NameHome Department/School
Brandi BrimmerAfrican, African American and Diaspora Studies
Jinsong HuangApplied Physical Sciences
Todd VisionBiology
Kevin WeeksChemistry
Mohit BansalComputer Science
Xiaoming LiuEarth, Marine and Environmental Sciences
Elizabeth (Betsy) OlsonGeography
John PreisserGillings School of Global Public Health (Biostatistics)
Lisa LindsayHistory
Sarah ShieldsHistory
Richard McLaughlinMathematics
Adrienne ErickcekPhysics and Astronomy
Jeff Spinner-HalevPolitical Science
Donald LyslePsychology and Neuroscience
Barbara AmbrosReligious Studies
Jessica BoonReligious Studies
Carissa HessickSchool of Law
Jill FisherSchool of Medicine (Social Medicine)
Nicole Else-QuestWomen and Gender Studies

Junior Faculty Development Awards

First NameHome Department Name
Adesola AkinkutoSchool of Medicine (Surgery-Pediatric)
Katie BaldwinSchool of Medicine (Cell Biology and Physiology)
Jiayi BaoPublic Policy
Gedas BertasiusComputer Science
Malia BlueExercise and Sports Science
Elizabeth BrunkSchool of Medicine (Pharmacology)
Taylor CowderyEnglish and Comparative Literature
Christina CruzSchool of Medicine (Psychiatry)
H.M. CushmanEnglish and Comparative Literature
Scott DavisEshelman School of Pharmacy (DPOP)
Rob DowenSchool of Medicine (Cell Biology and Physiology)
Olivia DumitrescuMathematics
Saba EskandarianComputer Science
Ben FreyAmerican Studies
Steven GroverSchool of Medicine (Hematology)
Lauren HillGillings School of Global Public Health (Health Behavior)
Suzanne LyeClassics
Andrew MannPhysics and Astronomy
Ichiro MisumiSchool of Medicine (Genetics)
Benyam MulunehEshelman School of Pharmacy (DPET)
Alexandra OpreaPolitical Science
Aaron ShapiroCommunication
Caroline Sibley (Robinson)Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
Erin Siegal McIntyreHussman School of Journalism and Media
Ana Maria Silva CampoHistory
Jacqueline TileyEshelman School of Pharmacy (DPET)
Francesca TripodiSchool of Information and Library Science
Michael VazquezPhilosophy
Nadja VielotSchool of Medicine (Family Medicine)
Ana VineaAsian and Middle Eastern Studies
Mollie WoodGillings School of Global Public Health (Epidemiology)
Ya-Ke (Grace) WuSchool of Nursing
Rose Mary XavierSchool of Nursing
Zhengwu ZhangStatistics and Operations Research
Xinyan (Eva) ZhaoHussman School of Journalism and Media