The University is currently operating under normal conditions

Johnston Teaching Excellence Awards

These awards recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching. Winners are nominated by Johnston Scholars and selected by a special committee of scholars in the Johnston Program.

Two winners will receive $5,000 and a framed citation.

Click here to submit a nomination.

Origin of the Award

The awards were created in 1991 to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching.  The awards are funded by the James M. Johnston Scholarship Program.


  • Any teacher of undergraduate students who is a full-time faculty member (tenured or tenure-track) is eligible.  This includes teachers in Health Affairs, Academic Affairs and professional schools.  Fixed-term faculty members (e.g., lecturers and clinical professors) are eligible if they have taught at UNC-Chapel Hill for at least five years.  Visiting faculty members are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be teaching in the academic year in which they are selected.
  • Individuals who have won a Johnston award in the last five years are not eligible. Check the list of previous winners to be sure.

Selection procedure

  • Nominations for this award must come from Johnston Scholars in the Johnston Program.
  • A special committee of Johnston Scholars selects the winners and coordinates with the University Committee on Teaching Awards to avoid duplication.
  • The committee will forward its recommendations to the Chancellor.