J. Carlyle Sitterson Award for Teaching First-Year Students

Increase font size
Decrease font size

J. Carlyle Sitterson Awards for Teaching First-Year Students (2)

The two winners will receive a one-time stipend of $5,000 and a framed citation.

Click here to submit a nomination.

Origin of the Award

These awards were created in 1998 by the family of the late J. Carlyle Sitterson to recognize excellence in teaching first-year students by a tenured or tenure-track faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences. Lyle Sitterson, was a Kenan Professor of History and Chancellor of the University from 1966-72 and was a passionate advocate for inspired teaching of first-year students. The first award was given in 2000.


  • These awards are restricted to tenured or tenure-track faculty members in the College of Arts and Sciences who teach first-year students for at least part of their teaching responsibility. Fixed-term and visiting faculty members are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be teaching in the academic year in which they are selected.
  • Individuals who have won a Sitterson award in the last five years are not eligible. Check the list of previous winners to be sure.

Selection procedure

  • The committee screens applications and selects finalists for further consideration and works with a special committee of the College of Arts and Sciences to choose the winner.
  • Screening of finalists may include interviews with deans or department chairs, reading of student evaluations, and telephone interviews of randomly selected students.
  • The committee will forward its recommendations to the Chancellor.