Position Search – Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Increase font size
Decrease font size

The University of North Carolina is pleased to announce the appointment of a reconstituted 21-member committee searching for the University’s next Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost. Chancellor Holden Thorp will charge the committee at its first meeting later this month and expects work to proceed productively in the coming weeks under the leadership of Kristen Swanson, Dean of the School of Nursing and Alumni Distinguished Professor, as chair.

The search committee has begun to recruit for the position but with an understanding that potential candidates will likely want to know the result of the Chancellor search before they engage too deeply in the process. Dean Swanson is communicating with Wade Hargrove, chair of the Chancellor Search Committee and our Board of Trustees, to coordinate the provost search with the chancellor search. 

The committee strongly encourages suggestions for potential candidates. Suggestions may be emailed to the committee’s search consultants at UNCProvost@wittkieffer.com. Please provide names, contact information, and any additional observations you would like to offer for either internal or external candidates. The consultants will follow up on all suggestions.

For more information, please click the links below:


Joining Dean Swanson on the search committee are distinguished faculty colleagues representing the College of Arts and Sciences, our professional schools and the Office of Faculty Governance. They are:

  • Howard Aldrich, Kenan Professor and chair, Department of Sociology
  • Bill Andrews, E. Maynard Adams Professor of English, Department of English and Comparative Literature
  • Tim Carey, professor of medicine and social medicine, School of Medicine, and director of the Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research
  • Jennifer Conrad, senior associate dean for academic affairs and Dalton McMichael Distinguished Professor of Finance, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Jo Anne Earp, professor and former chair, Department of Health Behavior, Gillings School of Global Public Health
  • Joe Ferrell, Secretary of the Faculty and Albert Coates Professor of Public Law and Government, School of Government
  • Thomas Hazen, Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of Law, School of Law
  • William Kier, professor and chair, Department of Biology
  • Barbara Moran, Louis Round Wilson Distinguished Professor and former dean, School of Information and Library Science
  • Mike Smith, dean and professor of public law and government, School of Government
  • Dulcie Straughan, James and Hallie Parker Distinguished Professor and former interim dean, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Kim Strom-Gottfried, Smith Theimann Distinguished Professor for Ethics and Professional Practice and former interim dean, School of Social Work

Also serving on the committee are:

  • Alston Gardner, a member of our Board of Trustees and a lecturer of strategy and entrepreneurship, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Taffye Clayton, Vice Provost for Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
  • Stephen Farmer, Vice Provost for Enrollment and Undergraduate Admissions
  • Karol Kain Gray, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration
  • Bettina Shuford, Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
  • Tammy Cox, treasurer of the Employee Forum
  • Rachel Myrick, student body vice president
  • Kiran Bhardwaj, vice president of external affairs for the Graduate and Professional Student Federation